RSS

Series or Stand-Alone Novels?

09 Oct
Cover of "A Thousand Splendid Suns (First...

Cover via Amazon

The debate on which I book I should read next is always a tough one. I have officially (let me just check fictfact.com, which by the way is a brilliant site recommend-to-a-friendworthy even) twenty series on the go at the moment. That’s a lot isn’t it? Well I’m up to date (which means I’ve read all books that are currently released from that series) with two of them. That doesn’t really improve matters much does it? Oh well…

The fact of the matter is I like series of books. And it seems I’m not the only one. I often wonder how I actually read books before the internet came along. I’m a member of shelfari, goodreads and now I also write this blog, all of which I find are fantastic ways of discovering more and more books, especially those in a series, to read. The danger is of course, what has clearly happened to me, over crowding. Some people might believe in reading a series in one go, one after the other. I could never do that with maybe the exception of the likes of the Chronicles of Narnia or Harry Potter. Narnia, because they’re such short books that really three Narnia books are worth one regular book for me. HP because I just adore them. I’ve read the whole series at least three or four times since the last book was released. Anyway other than these few exceptions, I personally believe you need a break to let the characters breath.

So my usual method goes something like this. Series, other series, stand-alone, another series, repeat. So usually I’m back at series number one after four books. However this rarely goes according to plan. I’m a sucker for a good book and if I come across one that just makes me want to cry and laugh at the same time I’ll probably want to read the follow-up immediately. Take JR Ward for instance. I’m in the process of reading her Black Dagger Brotherhood series and it takes all my self-control not to plough through them all one after the other at the rate of ninety. I’m doing well though and it really does help. You don’t get sick of a specific character, certain places or settings in a book don’t bug you as much and just the author’s style of writing remains fresh in your head instead of slowly wearing you out.

Lets just take a few minutes to have a word on stand-alone’s. I like them. Sometimes I’m a little more meh towards them than I am series but that’s to my own detriment I fear. Some of the best books I’ve ever read have been stand-alones. Take Khaled Hosseini‘s books, for instance, the Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns were absolutely fantastic. The Time Traveler’s Wife from Audrey Niffeneger was also quite moving, if a bit confusing.

The problem with me is I will always, and I mean always, buy the next book from a series I’m currently making my way through over a stand-alone every day of the week. It does pain me sometimes because I feel I do make myself miss out on books that are fantastic. My mother as been offering The Room to me for over ten months now and I still haven’t found time to lend it off her and give it a read. So on this train of thought I feel I need to do something to motivate myself to read some stand-alone novels. So on another page on this site I have posted the Times 100 Novels of All Time and my mission is to start making my way through that hundred. I don’t believe it will be an easy task and I think that it will probably take me (ye may laugh at this but I’m being realistic) a couple of years at least. However it would be an accomplishment I think I would be super proud of so I’ll do my very best to stay on track.

This does not mean I’m giving up my series by the way…

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Series or Stand-Alone Novels?

  1. Jeyna Grace

    October 10, 2011 at 1:16 am

    Series means spending more money. When i see a series, i always think twice.

     
  2. tillyslaton

    October 10, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    What to read? What to read? Isn’t that always the question? If I have disappeared and my husband hasn’t seen me in awhile, he can usually find me standing in my office .. staring at my bookshelves.

    Which author am I in the mood for? Sex or no sex? If yes ..what kind? How delicious? How descriptive? How bloody do I want the violence scenes? Gooey eyes bursting with digusting dripping slime or just a wham bam I gotchu moment? (heheh) Mystery? Romance? Now that is the killer question. What kind of romance?

    I will usually lean towards reading a series. I like the “what happens next” feeling .. Will that dude end up with that chick? 😉

    If I don’t want to think too much and I just want to slam myself through a book .. a single title will suffice. Usually not ..

    I love J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series. I can rip through like a sprint through hell.

    Laurell Hamilton is an interesting read. I dislike the Meredith Gentry series. But her Anita Blake series is fun. Zombie animators, vampires, werewolves and other shape-shifting lovlies .. Love triangles taken to a new level and then some .. Character progression is astounding as well. This series is most definitely not for the prudish faint of heart. The first book is a let down. Suffer through it and push to the second and third. She’ll become a favorite 🙂

     
    • justpeachy29

      October 11, 2011 at 11:42 pm

      Ya I find myself always leaning towards series too. It annoys me that more of them don’t make those Best Books lists though!! It’s nearly always stand-alones!

      I absolutely adore the BDB series too, I’m actually purposely slowing myself down by always reading a couple of different books in between a BDB book because I honestly don’t know what I’ll do when I’ve got to the last book! I hear she has decided to do more books on Lassiter and Qhuinn and few others too though (thank God!).

      Ya Anita I’ve read the first four and you’re right the first was the worst. There all better from there on. But tell me when does she start having all this crazy sex I keep hearing about in Anita Blake books because I ain’t seen any yet!! Shes actually quite virginal!

       
      • Tilly Slaton

        October 12, 2011 at 11:21 am

        I love an intense or brutal sex scene .. And that is exactly what will become of the Anita Blake series .. It almost comes toa point where it’s like .. “oh c’mon! Enough already!” trust me:). If you like the fun sec bits .. Keep reading ..

         

Leave a Reply

 
