RSS

Lord of the Rings Trilogy by JRR Tolkien No#2

10 Oct
The Lord of the Rings film trilogy

Image via Wikipedia

The Fellowship of the Ring

So I’ve read the Lord of the Rings saga a few times now and every time I realise how much I absolutely love it. JRR Tolkien is without a doubt a master of fantasy. He has created this complete world down to the very minutest detail that just completely astounds me. To think that one man could invent an entire world not just including new characters, settings and creatures but also complete with new animal and plant species as well is just unbelievable. I’m not sure there has been author since to create something so detailed.

All the characters are amazing I especially love all the creatures such as the dwarf’s and the elves. If I have one flaw to point out it’s that of Frodo‘s character. Bilbo was a brave, funny and cheeky character in the Hobbit but Frodo just bores me silly, in both the books and the films. In the films I want to kill him but I can tolerate him in the books. However they are still an amazing series of books and are definitely classics!!

The Two Towers

This book is my least favourite of the trilogy. Even though its well written and at times well paced and interesting I find because it has no beginning and no end it can be an extremely difficult book to get through.

The first part when we are following Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli is by far much more exciting and easier to read than the second part concerning Frodo and Sams journey. The second part is so repetitive and drags on and on. Can Frodo bear the ring? Will it become too much of a burden? Will he give up? Blah blah… I love Sam however who is a much more entertaining character than Frodo and provides the much-needed light entertainment in the final part of this book.

A good book, but to me never matches up to the worlds and people created in the first book.

The Return of the King

As much as I adore the Lord of the Rings trilogy, Christ but does he drag out the ending of this book. Most of this book is just as amazing as the previous two installments, I especially loved the main battle chapters as Tolkien just has this amazing ability to draw you so well into the story you can really feel all the emotions!

The chapters with Sam and Frodo once again I found tedious at times and Frodo just gets on my nerves more and more as the story progresses. I love Sam and wish he’d get more credit towards the end as really he was the only reason the ring was eventually destroyed.

The final few chapters I found hard going this time round as I just find at times that a lot of the book could have been shortened as most of the happenings along the road on their journey back to the shire were unneccessary to the actual storyline. Sometimes I wonder was it just filling to bulk the book up a bit compared to the other two.

However despite these few flaws I love LOTR and they will remain always in my top ten favourite books list!

The Films

I just want to say a quick word on the films. I am usually a strong, strong believer that books do not translate well to screen ninety percent of the time. That, of course, you’re always going to be missing scenes you wanted to see, that to a reader it will appear jerky and disorganised but the Lord of the Rings trilogy was very different. I’m not sure whether it was to do with Peter Jackson and his love for the books or was it the actors or was its New Zealand‘s striking similarities to Tolkien’s description of Middle Earth but it worked. It worked so well that the Lord of the Rings movies could be argued to be better than the books. I’m not saying they are but even the fact that this point could be argued shows how well they translated to film. These films flowed like I’ve never seen book adaptations flow. It was probably the first time I sat through a book adaptation of a film and didn’t think “Aw, that’s not what I imagined at all”. Everything was how I imagined it, sometimes even better. I loved the films just as much as the books, maybe, just maybe, a little bit more…

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Lord of the Rings Trilogy by JRR Tolkien No#2

  1. Jamie Holtan

    December 14, 2011 at 9:27 am

    You are my breathing in, I possess few blogs and occasionally run out from brand :). “He who controls the past commands the future. He who commands the future conquers the past.” by George Orwell.

     

Leave a Reply

 
