RSS

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis. No #1.

10 Oct
First edition

Image via Wikipedia

This is number one to tick off the 100 Best Novels List as read. I’ve read this numerous times over the years and I can’t deny that it’s a good book. It is. It’s got great characters, a great setting and a great plot. I love the Chronicles of Narnia, to me they’re up there with Harry Potter and the Lord of the Rings.

However (you knew it was coming didn’t you) I don’t think that this is the best book in the collection. In fact I would go so far as to say that, excluding the Last Battle which I also found disappointing, this was maybe the worst. It was definitely the one I enjoyed the least. I adored Voyage of the Dawn Treader, the Horse and His Boy and the Silver Chair. These were all much better books in my opinion. Of course that’s not to say the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is a bad book. It’s far from it. But out of the seven books it ain’t the one that jumped out at me.

Nevertheless it is the book that introduced us to the series most famous characters, Lucy, Susan, Edmund and Peter. They are all individually good characters and the fact that Edmund struggles to be as inherently good as the rest of them only made me like him more. Lucy is a sweetheart. It’s such a pity that kid characters like these aren’t written all that often any more. They are old-fashioned, yes, but they are what kids should be. Innocent.

Narnia is a wonderful world created by Lewis. It rivals the Wizarding world in Harry Potter and Middle Earth in Lord of the Rings for its details and beauty. I love Narnia, and if I had to choose between there and Middle Earth for a visit I honestly don’t know which I’d choose, that’s how good these books are. They definitely deserve a place on the 100 Best Novels List but I wish they had chosen to put them in as the Chronicles (the whole collection) like they did with Lord of the Rings, instead of just choosing this single instalment.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 10, 2011 in 100 Best Novel List, Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis. No #1.

Leave a Reply

 
