RSS

Room by Emma Donoghue

30 Nov

Wow, okay so this was probably one of the best books I’ve read all year. I’m way behind on everyone else reading this because I’ve had so much on my to-read list this year that I’ve been putting it off. When I think of some of the tripe I read when I could have been reading this…

Ma and Jack are two characters that will stay with you for the rest of your life more than likely. Basically the plot centers around the two of them for the majority of the book in what is basically a  scenario with a woman having been kidnapped and locked in a room where her kidnapper has repeatedly raped and abused her which eventually resulted in the birth of Jack. We meet Jack when he is just turning five and since his whole life has been spent in the confines of Room, he doesn’t even understand the concepts of a world beyond his four walls. The innocence with which he describes his life and his daily routine in his surroundings is extremely humbling. This child has never even played Tag nevermind owned an Xbox.

Ma’s bravery and battle with coming to terms with everything she experienced is really brilliant. I love Ma but I just adored listening to Jack’s inner monologue which was at times so sad and at times so innocently funny. I adored this book from start to finish and it just went too quickly. It really makes you appreciate your life and the things you take for granted every day. A cup of tea or a trip to the cinema takes on a whole new meaning when you’ve read this book. It moved me to tears, and when a book does that I know I’ve found something amazing.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2011 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Room by Emma Donoghue

  1. Kerry

    November 30, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    I agree that Jack is a lovely character but I found the part in the Room dragged a little, I much prefered the second part of the novel.

     
  2. Tilly Slaton

    December 16, 2011 at 3:00 am

    It’s now in my to-read list at goodreads! … I’ve also recommended this book to a friend … I can’t wait to read it . Only 6 more books in my current series and then I’ll check this one out 🙂

     
  3. Laura

    January 3, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    I found the part in the Room was brilliant in the beginning and felt the author just barely finished that part in time before it got too boring, I will admit I was just beginning to think this is getting a little tedious! Tilly it’s well worth the read I denied myself for way too long don’t do the same as me!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
