RSS

Atonement by Ian McEwan

03 Jan

Well this was not the life-changing experience I was expecting, to be perfectly honest. I may be in the minority here but I found this book tedious. There are some good things but none of them make up for the fact that most of this book is utterly boring. I’ve never seen the film and I can’t say I’ll be rushing out to buy the DVD any time soon.

So the good parts first, the sex scene in the library and mm…. that’s it. If the book focused more on Robbie and Cecelia’s love for one another and less on the tedious life of Briony or (don’t remind me) Emily’s then it may have worked. We barely ever see Cecilia’s whole take on things, just through letters she sends to Robbie and then of course Robbie is so consumed with life in war-time that there isn’t a whole lot of time given over to him thinking about Cecelia. I must say here though that the chapters about Robbie in France were probably the most exciting mainly because the author was very good at describing life during a war and the terrible effects on a country and it’s people.

The beginning was the worst with most of the story being told from Briony’s point of view and unfortunately she is just a weak thirteen year old girl who has an over-active imagination. How she can possibly justify in her head that Robbie is a rapist, the same boy who she’s known all her life, who taught her to swim and gave her piggy back rides. I don’t understand how she gets to this conclusion when we learn towards the end that she always knew that it wasn’t really him. I just don’t get it. It’s not like she blamed him for stealing her Barbie doll, this is rape.

And then the whole thing with Lola eventually marrying her real rapist Paul Marshall? Give me a frigging break. I didn’t like this book. I will admit that it’s nicely written. That, my friends, is the only compliment coming from me about this book.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 3, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
