RSS

Christmas, a funny time of year…

03 Jan
Happy Christmas, painted by Johansen Viggo

Image via Wikipedia

I want to apologize to everyone for the lack of blogs in the last month and by everyone I mean the handful of people who actually care (I love you). It’s been a busy month. I work in retail and its Christmas in case you didn’t notice. First of all I’d like to say I love Christmas, in fact I adore it. My brother even goes so far as calling me the Christmas Nazi because I like to insist on everything being just right at Christmas, my mother had the sheer gall to suggest not having turkey this year… Unbelievable, I know. People are generally happier, everyone makes that extra effort to be nice to each other, there are presents. There are a lot of pluses to Christmas.

However as I have already mention I work in retail. Yep that’s what I said people, retail. I know I feel sorry for me too. The customer is always right, right? Wrong. The customer is nearly always wrong. You just have to let them believe they’re right and somehow convince them of the exact opposite without letting them find out that they were indeed being utterly and pathetically stupid. You see if they found out how absolutely lacking in intelligence that they really are they would get embarrassed and embarrassed customers leave. That’s not what we’re looking for. We need them to get around to our way of thinking but somehow believe that, that was the way they were thinking all along. It’s tricky, I won’t lie. So that’s my one fault at Christmas but there are pros to working in retail at Christmas too. For instance, I get first dibs on all the really nice offers that come in before they sell out. I get to decorate an entire shop instead of just a living room. I get a thousand people wishing me a Happy Christmas on Christmas Eve. I get to wear a Santa hat and light up earrings and I can even pretend I’m being forced. And the Christmas bonus of course!

There’s some annoying parts but there’s a whole lot to love too. I want to wish everyone out there a very Merry (and slightly belated) Christmas and a Happy New Year!! Have a great 2012!! (until the 21st Dec of course cos that’s when we’re going to die, I’ve seen the movie, they brought it out before the event which is unusual but they were worried about poor sales if they released it after December, I guess you can see their point)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Christmas, a funny time of year…

  1. Tilly Slaton

    January 3, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    I worked one Christmas in retail. They couldn’t pay me enough to do it again.

    I’m glad you are here and that you seem to have survived somewhat intact! …

     

Leave a Reply

 
