RSS

Delirium by Lauren Oliver (Delirium Trilogy #1)

15 Jan

This is one of those books that I pick up thinking I’ll just read the first few pages of this and see what it’s like and two days later I’ll finish it and put the book down but I know the story will stay with me for a very long time. It’s so gripping I found myself reading it at every practical time and a few impractical times too.

Lena is a character that will stay with you forever, as are Alex and Hana. It’s such an amazing concept that the author has come up with having love as a disease that everyone needs to be cured of at the age of 18. They have come up with a cure which involves removing a section of the brain that is responsible for all the feelings, desires and emotions attached to love. In the beginning Lena is all for the cure and cannot wait to have the procedure when she turns eighteen having seen her mother and her sister ‘suffer’ from the disease. Then she meets Alex.

So you can see where this is going and yes it’s a lovely romantic love story but the main part of this book that I enjoyed was this crazy world that Lena was living in and herself and Alex’s attempts to break away from that restriction. The whole concept of the government turning everyone into brain-washed zombies by removing their ability to feel love is genius. In the beginning I felt like smacking Lena’s head against a brick wall because in my opinion she wasn’t falling in love with Alex fast enough but then I took a step back and had to think, this is someone who nearly her whole life has been made to believe that love is a filthy, dirty, dangerous disease and when she sees herself beginning to succumb to the symptoms, of course she panics. It’s like if we were told in the morning that actually smallpox is a good thing and we shouldn’t worry about getting infected. Nobody would believe it.

This book is one of a kind and I literally am on the edge of my seat to see where the next book brings us and how Lena will cope in the Wilds.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
