RSS

Lover Avenged by JR Ward (Book 7 BDB Series)

15 Jan

The question I find myself asking is what am I actually going to do if JR Ward ever stops writing these books… I adore them. Maybe, just maybe, as much as Harry Potter or Narnia or LOTR. I also have to admit that I was a little anxious about this book as this was mainly about Rehvenge who we’ve only seen little bits of before and who I never particularly warmed to. He’s a pimp, a drug dealer, a club owner and half sympath (a particularly evil cross-breed of a species some bit related to the vampire). Not much to like eh? Wrong. Lots and lots to like my friend.

Rehv is a great character because yes he’s flawed and yes he knows it and yes there’s a whole lot of self-pity going around but somehow his story is just so gripping I got past everything else. And Ehlena was great as the female love interest. Oh and I love her father, so cute.

In this book Ward changed things up a bit. Yes they had the strong male character who fell for a female and they had a turbulent time getting things sorted before the happy ending but there was also a whole bunch of other stuff going on in this book. We usually have maybe one or two other minor subplots going on in every BDB book so far but in this one she had the main plot about Rehv and Ehlena, Lash and his whole lesser story, Wrath and Beth’s struggle through his new impairment and also Xhex and John’s kind-of love story. And none were minor, in actual fact sometimes I felt the book was just as much about these other stories as it was about Rehv. Maybe Ward felt that Rehv wasn’t liked enough to center on him completely or maybe she just had a lot of stories in her head about the other characters that she needed to tell, either way I thought it worked. I never got bored once although I will admit I least liked reading Lash’s story but I concede that it is important to the whole tale.

I adored reading about Wrath and Beth again who we haven’t seen a whole lot of since the first book and who I think everyone who’s a BDB fan feel a deep connection with because of them being the first story told. It was awesome to read a Wrath and Beth sex scene too, I missed him. Their story is sad but in the end it’s quite poignant in how Wrath comes to his ultimate conclusion that his life is the way it should be even if sometimes he doesn’t agree with it completely.

Quick mention of John, boy has he changed. I’m not sure I like it but I think we saw a glimpse of the old John coming back in the end so I’m hoping for a Tohr and John jolly reunion. And Xhex obviously. Hope Lash doesn’t get his dirty hands near her and if he does I hope she gives him what he deserves.

I loved, loved, loved this book and just hope she never stops!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Lover Avenged by JR Ward (Book 7 BDB Series)

  1. Jeyna Grace

    January 16, 2012 at 2:09 am

    Sounds interesting..

     

Leave a Reply

 
