RSS

The Burning Girl by Mark Billingham (Inspector Thorne #4)

15 Jan

Not my favourite Billingham book. Up til now I really thought his Thorne books were excellent, something onto Michael Connelly but english however I feel this book let him down somewhat. It could just be me though as I really find it hard to get interested in or even understand books centered around gangs and gangland murders.

He told the story well and you did get a good feel for all the different characters, good or bad. However it took me awhile to figure out who was who as there were so many different people involved in the separate gangs and then there were the other people from twenty years ago so I got a bit confused at times I have to admit. It was a good plotline I suppose but I didn’t feel one bit of sympathy for any of the victims as they were all criminals anyway so that took from it a bit. The ending irritated me too as did the part with Thorne and Chamberlain in his apartment. I’m hoping and praying that the next novel will be better.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Burning Girl by Mark Billingham (Inspector Thorne #4)

Leave a Reply

 
