RSS

The Knife Of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking #1)

15 Jan

Okay so finally a book that lives up to my expectations. I really, really enjoyed this. Apart from it’s slightly strange title there are very few faults that I can think of. The characters are so well written and mature that you completely forget that they are only supposed to be twelve years old.

So basically the plot centers around Todd, his pet dog Manchee and Viola. Todd is the last boy to live in Prentistown, a place where every thought is heard by everyone around you and all the women have died. They have begun to think of their thoughts as Noise because it is a constant stream of just that, noise. Todd’s substitute parents force Todd to run away before he becomes a man, which in Prentistown is when you turn thirteen. He doesn’t fully understand why he’s running and when he meets Viola in the swamp, a girl whose plane has crash landed nearby, they decide to travel together. As they venture further away from the town Todd begins to learn bit by bit how false all his beliefs were and the true history of his town.

The characters are so gripping I just couldn’t get enough of any of them and I put this book down wanting more which is always a good sign. Todd and Viola are slightly innocent but are brave decent people and Todd’s dog Manchee is the most adorable dog ever. I love him, he’s actually my favourite character! I loved the plot, thought it was really interesting and I was gripped throughout. I completely forgot this was a young adult book until I put it down and saw the quote at the back. It doesn’t read like a young adult book and the characters have so much maturity and the plot so much depth that I think a young adult tag is detrimental to this book. Brilliant.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Knife Of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking #1)

  1. Sheila (Book Journey)

    January 15, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    Great review…. Manchee in the first pages was weird…. a talking dog… then 3/4 of the way through I was bawling…. “Manchee!”

     
  2. Laura

    January 17, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    I know I kept waiting for him to turn up somewhere else just hurt but no…sobfest!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
