RSS

The Lunatic Cafe by Laurell K Hamilton (Anita Blake #4)

15 Jan

I liked this. It was a good Anita Blake book and the more I read them and the more I understand of her world the more interesting it gets. Anita is a complicated character and I like her for her old-fashioned views on love and her crazy views on life. She’s a pretty cool kick-ass heroine but jeez does she get a hard time of it. I gave up counting how many times she got attacked in this book.

I thought the plot was good but at the same time I thought there was a hell of a lot of things going on at once. A bit too much at times, it was hard to keep up. I do still love Jean-Claude and I really hope she gives him a proper chance in the next book when he’s trying to date her. I’m not sure about Richard, I like him but he seems a bit too goody two shoes for Anita. The only thing that annoyed me about Anita was her prejudice towards Richard and a bit Jean-Claude too. I understand this is not Twilight and the monsters are truly monsters not just misunderstood creatures but I thought Richard definitely needed to be cut a break. Jean-Claude is evil though you can see that, however he does seem to genuinely care about Anita so who knows maybe he will change his wicked ways!

By the way where’s all this sex everyone’s talking about with Anita Blake books? All I’ve seen is some enthusiastic heavy petting but that’s about it. Boring.

 
 
 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “The Lunatic Cafe by Laurell K Hamilton (Anita Blake #4)

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    January 16, 2012 at 1:54 am

    In about two more books there will be so much sex you won’t know what to do with yourself! I love this series – glad you are enjoying it!

     
  2. Tilly Slaton

    January 16, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    I am only going off of memory here, so I could be WAY off base but!.. I think the sexsexsex starts in Narc in Chains

     

Leave a Reply

 
