RSS

The Sookie Stackhouse Companion by Charlaine Harris

15 Jan

Meh… This was okay, it’s really aimed at hardcore fans. Funnily enough I would have put myself in or very close to that category but after reading this I realise maybe I was once but not so much any more. That’s not to say I love me some Sookie but the series as a whole doesn’t grip me as much as it used to.

The best thing about this book is the short story in the beginning, A Small Town Wedding where Sookie goes with Sam to his brothers wedding. Even though neither Sam’s brother or his bride-to-be are shifters there is a lot of bad feeling in the town and so ensues a majorly upsetting riot-type situation on the wedding day. It’s an interesting little story and although Eric isn’t in it, Sam is and so is Quinn so that nearly makes up for it.

The rest of the book is a tad boring. Yep I said it people, it’s boring. Come on I love a good recipe for casserole as much as the next person but it ain’t what I’m expecting when I pick up a Sookie Stackhouse book. And trivia questions always bore me I’m not reading books so I can be tested on them later. The timeline was basically just a summary of everything that happened in every book so far but gave us dates which I didn’t really need to know and the summaries were just summaries, nothing new involved. Then a few questions and answers by Charlaine herself and Alan Ball the producer of True Blood. The Charlaine ones were good but I’m not a fan of the show so the Ball ones didn’t interest me. All in all it was a bit of a disappointment as a companion book. It did make me realise how good JR Ward’s companion book is on the Black Dagger Brotherhood is in comparison though. Disappointing as it was something I was kind of looking forward to…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
