RSS

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead (VA #1)

15 Jan

So this is my first read of 2012 and I liked it, that’s always a good sign of the year to come! This took me longer than it should have because of the time of year and because for some funny reason it took me awhile to get into this story. I didn’t immediately love Rose or Lissa and it took me awhile to warm to any of the other minor characters too. Rose can be a total bitch sometimes and Lissa I thought was a little boring in the beginning.

However, if you stick with this book people, it gets better and better! By the end I couldn’t put it down and I didn’t want it to finish. I love Rose for the same reason I didn’t like her in the beginning and Lissa is not boring we find out, far from it. The plotline is similar to the House of Night series, which I also love. It seems anything with a Hogwarts-like school is good enough for me. I love the whole boarding school atmosphere and setting so I was actually happy when they were sent back there.

Rose is a tough bitch and she can be pretty mean but she also has a soft side and her feelings for both Lissa and Dimitri show that. Aside from his dismally bad name, Dimitri (like really, did she just google Russian names and this was the first to come up?) is wonderful. I loved the whole tough guy, never wavers, can’t show emotion thing he had going on. I need him and Rose to be together, I need it now!

The plotline was good and I’m really looking forward to the rest of the books which my boyfriend bought for me for Christmas. My boyfriend who has never read a book in his life and has only ever entered bookshops when being dragged behind me. Does he know me well or what?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
