RSS

Evermore by Alyson Noel (Immortals Series #1)

19 Jan

I really, really liked this! Think this is the first time a young adult book has gripped me so much since Twilight. The characters, the storyline, the setting, everything about it I adored basically.

Ever (which by the way is one of the most original names ever((excuse the pun!))) is an interesting main character in that she isn’t always completely likeable but you can’t help but empathise with her at the same time. She has become an orphan and lost her sister all at once and has to deal with a new home, new school, a whole new life really. Not to mention her new psychic abilities. Damen is instantly beautiful and gripping character too, even more so than Ever as he always seems to be trying so hard to please Ever.

The storyline is new, original and so refreshing in a young adult book. Even though I love the vampire craze taking over young adult books at the moment, this is a refreshing change on the scenario. Damen isn’t a vampire, he is an immortal, which apparently is not the same thing people! He doesn’t need to feed on blood to survive although he does drink a suspicious red liquid which we don’t learn much about in this book so I wouldn’t rule that out.

I am so intrigued about how the story is going to continue and think this is my first exciting  of 2011.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Evermore by Alyson Noel (Immortals Series #1)

  1. beckyday6

    January 22, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    Wow, it’s so strange! My best friend absolutely loved this book as well but I just couldn’t stand it! Haha. I thought the guy in it Damen was so shallow and unlikable, flashing his money everywhere. Didn’t you find this? Or was it just me? I didn’t like Ever’s best friend either….I can’t remember her name but I remember thinking, sorry, why are they friends? It’s rare that I pick up a book and don’t continue the rest of the series, but this was one of them. I did like Ever’s character though, I thought she was really original and intriguing.

     
    • Arlasworld

      January 22, 2012 at 2:20 pm

      You know I have an inner policy that I never change a review of a book I’ve read, cos no matter how I feel 6 months or a year after reading it, the review is how I felt immediately after finishing the book and thats the true emotions it left me with. However, if you read my reviews for the rest of the Immortals Series you’ll see how my opinion changes on them gradually and looking back now I would never write a review this nice for this book either. It’s the only review I look back at and cringe which is sad…

       
      • beckyday6

        January 22, 2012 at 3:46 pm

        Oh really? Thats interesting, it’s strange how our opinions can change over time. I suppose it would have been a similar senario for me if I had ever reviewed Twilight. When I first read the books I loved them but then the more I thought about the story and the characters, the more I started to dislike it. Thanks for replying 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
