RSS

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

19 Jan

I did like this book, I really did but I’m not sure I feel as strong about it as a lot of people seem to. My friend lent this to me with A Thousand Splendid Suns and said they were the best books she had read this year. I, unfortunately do not feel the same, but I did like them sure.
I found the main character, Amir, very tough to get to like especially in the beginning. He is so needlessly mean to Hassan. Some parts in the book are tough to read and so saddening and I found it a bit much that the man who abuses Hassan at the start goes on to abuse Hassan’s son? Like give the poor man a break!
It’s a moving book and it’s a story well told but I just felt like it was a bit too depressing. It would have been nice to have a happy moment in there somewhere.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

  1. RevPlace

    January 20, 2012 at 4:12 am

    I absolutely loved The Kite Runner. You are right that it is a depressing book, but I think that is the point. I don’t think Hosseini ever intended to write a happily-ever-after novel. He wanted to capture the experience of life in the middle east. I have never been there myself, so I can’t say how accurate it is in that respect, but I believe he is from Afghanistan or somewhere around there. I would like to read A Thousand Splendid Suns too, but have never gotten around to it.

     
  2. corlosky

    January 20, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    I thought this was a fantastic book. Granted, it was extremely depressing and I unashamedly cried at the end. But that was something unique about this book. There really was no happy ending, necessarily, and in the situation it describes, perhaps that’s how life really plays out. To have life so accurately portrayed, without a filter to dampen the harshness, is something that not many authors can pull off and receive such wide-spread acclaim.

    I do say it’s one of the best books I’ve read, and I’ve read a long list of fantastic books. But I can understand why you don’t feel as strongly.

    Thanks for posting:)

     
  3. Laura

    January 20, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    I have to say I read this book quite awhile ago and although I still stay true to my original opinion, I will admit that this book is one of those stories that you find yourself awake at 2am thinking about 6 weeks after you’ve finished it. So obviously this author did his job and did it well!

    Thanks for your opinions, there’s nothing I love better than a good book discussion!

     

Leave a Reply

 
