RSS

Along Came A Spider by James Patterson (Alex Cross #1)

21 Jan

This pleasantly surprised me as being even better than I was expecting. I think this was Patterson’s first bestseller and you can see why. It may still be one of his best written books to date. This book introduce’s Alex Cross who I have in my head as Morgan Freeman because of the film version and really I think even if he hadn’t played him that’s who I would have envisioned as him. He’s an amazing character and you just love him.

Gary Soneji is a scary, scary man and as far as I can remember it’s not the last we see of him. I think I may have read Roses are Red somewhere down the line. A brilliant book, excellent storyline, engaging characters and a terrifying bad guy!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Along Came A Spider by James Patterson (Alex Cross #1)

  1. Danielle

    January 22, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    This is such a great series! I think there are about 17 or 18 books in the Alex Cross series now, so you should definitely read the rest! I love Morgan Freeman but I could never imagine him in the role (even after seeing the movie…I read the book first). He’s too old for the role. In fact, I could kind of see Will Smith or Denzel Washington playing him if they decided to make any of these into movies. The hard role to cast would be Sampson!

     
    • Arlasworld

      January 23, 2012 at 8:55 pm

      I dunno, Will Smith is a bit too… good-looking I think!! You may have hit the nail on the head with Denzel though I could definitely imagine him alright! Mmm ya Sampson, I kind of always think of the big guy from the Green Mile? I dunno why but he always springs to mind!

       
      • Danielle

        January 27, 2012 at 2:42 pm

        True, Will Smith may not be the best fit… And my mum thinks the same guy for Sampson (Michael Clark Duncan)!

        I think the series would make a good TV show, since there are so many books out. (they tried to make Patterson’s Women’s Murder Club a TV show..I think it lasted almost a whole season)

         
      • Arlasworld

        January 27, 2012 at 7:30 pm

        Thats true with maybe one series per book? Think it would work perfectly they’ve done something similar in the UK (not sure what part of the world you’re from!) with Mark Billinghams books which are kind of a mix of Patterson and Michael Connelly. That worked great so hopefully you never know maybe someone will have a brainwave in the industry!!

         
  2. Danielle

    January 27, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    That would be interesting to see! That’s what is happening with one of my favorite book series: A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin…each book is one season. I’m from the States. I’ll check out that author though, because if he’s like Patterson, I’ll probably like him! Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
