RSS

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling (HP #1)

22 Jan
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

Image via Wikipedia

This book is the book of my childhood. I remember the exact day I read it and I remember wishing and wishing in the weeks and months that followed that a giant named Hagrid would soon come and take me away to Hogwarts! Unfortunately my 11th birthday came and went with no sign of him so I resigned myself to waiting patiently for each new Harry Potter book to be released instead.

The world that JK Rowling creates in the Harry Potter books is nothing short of genius. Even now as I re-read them as an adult the amount of detail and imagination that they include is shocking. The only books I have read since that I feel come to rival them is of course Lord of the Rings. Throughout every Harry Potter book you can also see how the LOTR trilogy influenced Rowling in different aspects of her books from the simple similarities in names such as Aragorn, the fierce ranger in LOTR, and Aragog, the giant spider King in HP to the more obvious similarities between the two more senior main characters in both books Gandalf the Grey and Albus Dumbledore.

However Rowling still manages to create her own distinct world which is just a little bit more child-friendly yet still appealing to audiences of any age!

I know myself that I will re-read the entire Harry Potter saga many times through my life and I look forward to each and every time!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling (HP #1)

Leave a Reply

 
