RSS

Mary Reilly by Valerie Martin

22 Jan
Mary Reilly (novel)

Image via Wikipedia

Mary Reilly is the unfortunate housekeeper of the even more unfortunate and infamous Jekyll and Hyde character. It is told from her perspective.

I had this book a long time before I got round to reading it and when I did I found I had been denying myself an extremely enjoyable read. It is a very unusual book with it being centered on an already very famous story everyone should be familiar with.

However because it is told from the perspective of the housekeeper we see it in a whole new light. Mary is a Jane-Eyre-type of character that you constantly root for and unfortunately never seems to come out on top.

A book that stayed with me a long time after reading it. Mary Reilly is a character which epitomizes the word unforgettable.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
