RSS

We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

26 Jan

Wow this book is some piece of work. It feels somehow wrong to admit how much I enjoyed this book as the main character is so disturbingly evil but so, so real. Eva’s story is so scary and the fact that ‘this could happen to anyone’ is so pronounced it just adds to the horror.

I couldn’t believe how detailed the last chapter was as I thought the author was going to leave the details of the shooting to our imaginations as it’s quite a touchy subject in most parts of the world but no she gave an intimate description of how nearly every victim dies. In my opinion I thought this made the book not just good but fantastic, boundaries are there to be pushed after all.

Shockingly good book. Yes its terrifying and even more so for being a fictional take on real life incidents but wow….I loved it!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

  1. Joanne Phillips

    January 27, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    I agree, this is a brave novel, and I enjoyed it (if you can enjoy it) while I was reading it, but I don’t think I could read it again. Mind you, since reading it I’ve become a mum, putting a whole new spin on things!
    Have you read Post Birthday World yet? This is another excellent book by Shriver, in the Sliding Doors style, sort of.

     
    • Arlasworld

      January 27, 2012 at 7:38 pm

      You Know I actually don’t think I could read it if I was a Mum it would be way too scary! Congrats by the way! Must check out Post Birthday World I hadn’t even heard of it? Thanks!

       

Leave a Reply

 
