RSS

Showdown by Tilly Bagshawe

27 Jan

This may have been the most ridiculous load of over-romantic, clichéd tripe I have ever read. The writing was atrocious, the ‘hip’ modern-day references were cringeworthy, the characters were brain-dead idiots and the plot was just plain stupid.

The only, and I mean the only, reason I gave it two stars instead of a measly one was that the plot had something to do with horses which was the main reason why I bought it in the first place. Learning about horse racing was the only highlight of the book even if it was the very basics, the author was too busy making her characters get it on in the back’s of horse boxes to worry about the actual horses.

I like a romance novel as much as the next girl but I like to be able to empathise with the characters. How anyone could empathise with these characters is beyond me they’re so unrealistic.

Anyway I blame myself entirely I should have known when the review on the front cover was from Heat magazine….

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
