RSS

The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking Trilogy #2)

29 Apr

I really don’t know why I delayed so long in reading the next in this trilogy. The first book was fantastic so I suppose maybe I was a bit unwilling to jeopardise how I felt about the first novel if the second wasn’t as fantastic. I needn’t have worried. This was just as good if not even better.

I really wasn’t sure about the ending of the first book I was so hoping to get a happy ending and I really believed that that’s what we were going to get too. However the author had other plans and ended it on quite a scary and confusing place so as readers, we were all left wondering what the hell was going to happen next. I have to admit I was worried. Part of the reason I enjoyed the first book so much was because it took place on a journey through a strange land that was new and exciting to both the characters and the readers. This is not the case in this instalment. Todd and Viola have arrived in Haven, their ultimate destination, in the hopes of finding shelter and help but alas, how wrong they turn out to be.

Not only is the setting of this book completely different we also see Todd and Viola apart for a huge amount of it which we rarely saw in the first novel. However this did not affect me in the way that I thought it would. Of course I want them to be together but their independent scenarios were so exciting I didn’t feel the longing as much as I should have. Viola is being kept first in a House of Healing where she eventually learns some rudimentary healing skills. Todd, on the other hand, is being kept in the bell tower above the Mayor’s home and is being forced to work with Davy Prentiss on a daily basis on various horrible tasks mostly involving the poor unfortunate Spackle.

The development of Viola and Todd’s characters over the course of this book is extensive to say the least. They both grow up a lot and not just in the physical sense but they seem to grow in maturity and can see that there is a bigger picture than just the two of them living happily ever after together. They want to see their world improve and become a better place to live. I also loved the development of lesser characters such as Davy and Wilf and the introduction of new characters in the shape of Lee and Mistress Coyle.

The ending is a humdinger and I can’t wait to sink my teeth into Monsters of Men. I really hope that it is an ending that this trilogy deserves. Oh and Angharrad may not replace Manchee but I still thought he was lovely!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 29, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking Trilogy #2)

Leave a Reply

 
