RSS

Fool Moon by Jim Butcher (The Dresden Files #2)

20 May

As I suspected with after reading the first in this series I enjoyed the second book much more than the first mainly because I knew a little of Harry Dresden’s world and it wasn’t so completely new to me. I find that the first book in a series can either be one that hooks you from the start and explains everything to you bit by bit and you get used to the world the characters are living in at an easy pace or it can be one that just throws you in at the deep end and you have to make the best of it and figure things out as you go along maybe a couple of chapters after the thing has already happened!

Storm Front fell into the second type for me. I enjoyed it but it took me a long time to get into and I was confused about the world he was living in for about sixty percent of the time. However it was still a good read and ended really well so I was determined to give the series another shot. And I was right to do so. Like with the Anita Blake series, the second installment was so much easier to understand and follow and it was a hell of a lot more exciting.

We get to see the more human side of Dresden in this instalment and it was nice to see he burns out just like the rest of us. I also loved the whole storyline. It was so refreshing to read a book about werewolves where they didn’t revert back into topless teenage boys who fall hopelessly in love with the wrong girl, at every turn. It was like a breath of fresh air. The werewolves were, wait for it…..

Evil!!

Shocker, I know. Who would have thought that these shapeshifters we’re all being led to believe by nefarious authors like Meyer and Stiefvater aren’t just big over-sized cuddly dogs but extremely dangerous inhuman evil creatures?

That’s sarcasm by the way. I’m so sick of monsters not being monsters that this book was just the antidote I needed. Now I will admit that not all the werewolves in this book were necessarily evil when in human form but the majority were both evil when furry and hairless. Ah the supernatural world the way it should be….

All in all you can see that I enjoyed this book. It whet my appetite for the next instalment an it’s definitely a series I’ll be investing in more of when I can.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 20, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
