RSS

If You Could See Me Now by Cecelia Ahern

24 May
First edition cover

First edition cover (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I love Cecelia Ahern. She just knows how to write a good book and no one can deny that. In this novel we meet Ivan a ‘Invisible Friend’ whose job it is to befriend little kids who for some reason or other need their company for a few weeks or months. At first Ivan thinks he has arrived in Fuchsia Lane to befriend Luke a six-year-old boy, but he comes to realise slowly that it’s actually Luke’s aunt Elizabeth that really needs his help.

It’s such an interesting concept, this storyline, that you’re immediately drawn into the book and I found it hard to stop thinking about when I wasn’t reading it. It was great to see the surprise in both Ivan and Elizabeth when Ivan slowly started to become visible to her. Even though on Elizabeth’s part she convinces herself that he is the father of one of Luke’s playmates. Ivan is such a sweet character that I started to want an imaginary friend!

The book is well written and not only do you get to love each character in the story but I also fell in love with Baile na gCroithe and its simple Irish ways. I live in a part of Ireland very similar to a town like this (we often have the same debacle with buses trying to fit over the bridge at the entrance to the town) and even though its described as a lonely, isolated spot in the book, I adore it. And weirdly I adore it even more in the depths of Winter when it’s at its loneliest!

As with all Ahern’s books you arrive at the ending with a slightly heavy heart (there’s bound to be tears) but with an uplifted attitude to the more mundane things in life.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “If You Could See Me Now by Cecelia Ahern

  1. darkwoodbooks

    May 24, 2012 at 11:32 am

    I have this book on my pile of books to read with well over a year. I was put off by one of her previous books which name escapes me but it was one where it was all emails/texts. I must poke this one out & have a look at it.

     
  2. Arlasworld

    May 31, 2012 at 11:01 am

    Im not entirely sure but I think that was Where Rainbows End. I must dig that one out I can just about remember it. Shes definitely worth a second try, I think anyway!

     

Leave a Reply

 
