RSS

The Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern

04 Jul

I was loaned this by a friend who really enjoyed it and even though I have only recently finished another Ahern book I said I’d give it a go as I’m rarely disappointed by her writing. I felt like this was slightly different to other Cecelia Ahern books. It was a little more fast paced and exciting. It was actually quite refreshing because of having just finished ‘If You Could See Me Now’ which was quite slow and lovey dovey. This isn’t a love story at all so it was completely different.

 
First of all our narrator is a sixteen-year-old girl which is a first as far as I can remember for Cecelia who’s protagonists are usually much older. It was refreshing to see a different side to Ahern’s writing skills as she wrote this teenage character really well. Tamara is basically a spoilt little rich girl who unfortunately suffers the loss of her father through suicide and her and her mother are uprooted from a huge mansion in posh suburbian Dublin to a tiny village in the middle of nowhere in rural Ireland. A big change for anybody.

 
You begin by extremely disliking Tamara (well I did anyway) but she does grow on you and because she eventually learns the errors of her ways and sees that there is a bigger picture than her little corner of the universe you actually begin to love her.

 
I felt like this was more of a mystery or suspense novel as opposed to Ahern’s usual fantastical love story feel. We did have a fantasy element in there with the diary that tells the future but to be honest I felt like that was only a sideline to the main story and that Tamara would have figured it out on her own anyway. This wasn’t necessarily a bad thing, personally I found it refreshing, but I suppose some people who adore Cecelia for the fantastical element alone may be a little disappointed, I’m not sure.

 
All in all, I enjoyed it and found it a nice change from Ahern’s usual style.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 4, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
