RSS

Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking #3)

16 Jul

This just didn’t let up from the very beginning. You open that front cover and you better find yourself with no plans for the following few hours because you will be hooked. This is a big book, over 600 pages and I don’t consider myself a very fast reader and I finished it within a day. It’s that good.

I must admit after the first two in the series I was slightly worried about how the last in the trilogy would fare out but it doesn’t disappoint. Not even a little. Todd and Viola become even better characters and the development of lesser characters is at times as unexpected as it is brilliant.

Basically this whole book centers around an actual war between the Mayor’s army, the rebellion group the Answer under Mistress Coyles leadership and the native people of the planet the Spackle or as they call themselves, the Land. There is drama in every page and there is death and violence and horror as you would expect with a real war. What strikes me as the most remarkable thing the author achieves in this book is that I, as a reader, did not take any side and I don’t think he intends the reader to want to take sides. He shows every point of view fairly and you empathise and agree with all sides. Sure the Mayor’s annoying sometimes, as is Mistress Coyle and 1017 but they’re also right a whole lot of the time too. Despite myself I even grew a little fond of the Mayor even though he’s mean and evil, Todd helps to show him a side of himself even he thought didn’t exist.

There are just the right amount of twists and turns throughout the book that keep up the amazing pace that I’ve rarely seen any other author be able to do. It amazes me that this is classed as a Young Adult book as it’s just so in-depth into the minds of men and the intricacies of war and death. I wonder at 13 or 14 would I have been able to appreciate how good this book genuinely is. I’m not sure.

However that does not take away from the fact that this is one of the best trilogies I’ve read since Lord of the Rings and it will definitely go down on my favourites list for sure.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 16, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
