RSS

Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

24 Sep

It’s been awhile since I’ve read a good chick lit novel so I really enjoyed this one. The last few I’ve picked up have either bored me silly or have been deeper than I was looking for. When I pick up a chick lit book, I expect very little from them just that they make me smile and give me a warm fuzzy feeling at the end. This one did just that.

Kinsella is a good author. She knows how to write likeable characters that aren’t too cliché or run-of-the-mill romantic stereotypes. Her main character of Emma in this novel is your average working twenty-something with a nice enough boyfriend and an okay job that she doesn’t love but doesn’t hate either. The best thing about Emma is her personality. Her inner monologue is hilarious most of the time and I think the way she reacts to certain situations is priceless. She’s a character that any woman would be able to relate to in some way or other.

Jack is a nice character too. I found him a little hard to like at times but I think that was the whole idea. He retained his mystery till nearly the end of the book which keeps the reader guessing as to whether he’s truly a good guy or not.

This is definitely worth a read if you’re looking for something that is quick and fun and doesn’t require huge amounts of brain power. I do not intend to make out that I think the chick lit genre is stupid or for people who aren’t intellectually minded by the way. I really enjoy the chick lit genre and I think that a good chick lit book is worth one hundred Twilights but I do view them as easier reads solely because you don’t have to invest too much thought or time into them. They’re not dealing in life or death situations (hopefully!) so you should be able to put them down feeling a little bit happier and content. This one does just that so enjoy!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Brittany

    September 24, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I read this one quite a few years ago, but I really enjoyed it! I enjoy most of Kinsella’s works 🙂
    Love the review!

     
  2. Hina Tabassum Khatri

    September 29, 2012 at 5:21 am

    I read it a few years back and completely agree as to what you mean by not investing much brain power and feel light and happy 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
