RSS

Deadline by Mira Grant (Newsflesh Series #2)

05 Mar

deadline[1]I’ve missed zombie books, I really have. I haven’t read one since having my little man but when the new series of The Walking Dead started on tv it rekindled my love of all undead beings so I invested in the next in the Newsflesh Series. I loved the first book. I actually really worried about how they were going to continue on the series without the main narrator from the first book but I needn’t have. This was even better than the first in my opinion.

Shaun is narrating this book and it’s a little strange at first because even though George was killed at the end of the last book she’s still weirdly hanging out in the back of Shaun’s mind and he still regularly has conversations with her, most of which he has out loud, much to the bemusement of those around him. He’s obviously lost touch with reality slightly since being forced to shoot his own sister in the spine. Understandable, I guess.

The story races along with the CDC being more prominently involved in the whole conspiracy in this book and Shaun having to break into a number of CDC centers around the country to try to establish what exactly is going on with the weird statistics surrounding people with reservoir KA conditions. He figures it out eventually with pretty devastating results.

The ending is exciting and leaves you wanting to dive straight into Blackout, something I’m very tempted to do. Not only are we living in a post-Apocalyptic world, we’re now going through another one. Great!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 5, 2013 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
