RSS

World War Z by Max Brooks

10 Mar
Cover of "World War Z: An Oral History of...

Cover via Amazon

Well I was seriously impressed with this book. I’d seen it somewhere along the way in ‘Best of Zombie’ lists so I knew I’d eventually read it and not a minute too soon, I loved it. You know when someone says its unputdownable but really it totally is? I literally found this extremely hard to put down I actually found myself contemplating reading it for a few minutes while stuck at the traffic lights in town but don’t worry I restrained myself!

It’s written in a kind of report style with loads of different stories and aspects of the Zombie War/Apocalypse, whatever you want to call it. It begins telling a few different stories of the lead up to the outbreak and how different people coped with it in different countries around the world. It then went on to tell of stories throughout the main outbreaks and how people survived through it and eventually there were stories about how each county fought back and eventually drove back the living dead.

Because of all these different points of view and different settings you never once got bored and it was always fast paced and exciting. It’s hard to pick a favourite story but I did love the Japanese Submarine story and also the blind Chinese man. I also thought the part where it told how the US soldiers won back America from the living dead really good.

All in all this book is probably one of the best zombie novels out there and that says a lot in my opinion as the range is pretty vast at the moment. The one tiny flaw which has nothing whatsoever to do with the book really is the trailer for the movie out in June….. It’s hollywoodised. Complete with complete script rewrite and big name movie stars (Brad Pitt). Now don’t get me wrong I will still go to the movie and I’ll more than likely enjoy it too but it’s just a pity that they didn’t stay true to the book and have some kind of documentary style film instead of going the hollywood blockbuster route. Wonder how the author feels about it….

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2013 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “World War Z by Max Brooks

  1. Darth Val

    March 10, 2013 at 9:12 pm

    I cannot agree with you more about the big screen version. I had been avoiding teasers and trailers like the plague (pun intended!) until I got a chance to finish the book, which I LOVED!

    As I read, I kept thinking how well docudrama would play out cinematically and I was so excited. then I saw the trailer and my shoulders drooped. I can’t say that I was surprised, but I think sometimes Hollywood pushes so hard to play it safe over playing it well.

    Like you, I will still see the movie. I will probably even enjoy it, I will just have to try very hard to not think of the book and what might have been. Sigh.

     
  2. Arlasworld

    March 10, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    Ya it just really surprises me that the author agreed to this. Basically all he sold was the name of his book as the trailer has no comparisons to the book that I can see at all? It’s a real pity for sure…

     

Leave a Reply

 
