RSS

Cell by Stephen King

20 Mar
Cell (novel)

Cell (novel) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As I am what I like to think of as a fairly prolific reader I shamefully admit that I have never read a Stephen King novel. Not one. Before this one that is. I also shamefully admit that I thought this was bad. Not Twilight bad but still bad.

I kind of wish that I liked it because it does have all the right elements that usually work for me but no. I can’t like it because I want to like it. It just didn’t do it for me. I didn’t like the beginning, the middle was ok but I pretty much hated the ending.

Okay so it’s kind of a zombie novel, kind of an end of the world thing, kind of a terrorist story. Basically all people with cell phones have gone crazy because of some sort of pulse sent through a telephone call. The main character, Clay, doesn’t own a cell phone. I’m not sure when exactly this was written but that is null and void now, everyone owns a cell phone. If you don’t you’re the insane one. So anyway him and a small band of others make their way across America hoping to find Clays and family and eventually salvation. As they make their trip the ‘phone-crazies’ start to evolve and become less violent but more intelligent creatures. So they burn them all alive in a football pitch. Smart move. The middle part of the book where they were travelling through the country I actually did enjoy and I liked the character of the Headmaster but then when they met up with the second band of travellers and Clay struck out on his own for a while it all started to come undone again. It got confusing too, I wasn’t even sure where they actually were at times because the crazies were invading their dreams and making them think they were travelling west when really they weren’t.

The ending I actually thought was going to be pretty good but it turned out to be a huge anti-climax. I hate books that end the way this book ended. I hate them.

Disappointing for my first King novel.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 20, 2013 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Cell by Stephen King

Leave a Reply

 
