RSS

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan (Forest of Hands and Teeth #1)

02 May
Cover of "The Forest of Hands and Teeth"

Cover of The Forest of Hands and Teeth

Hmm… I’m kind of in two minds about this book to be honest. I read it pretty quickly which usually means I enjoyed it but I have to say I’m left feeling more than a little disappointed. I know there’s a follow up book but from what I can see it isn’t going to be centered around the same characters. This just annoys me. I hate when authors just tell half a story and leave the rest to your imagination. Don’t be lazy Ms Ryan finish your books properly!

There were good things about this book though, the main one being the world that the book is set in. It reminded me of that film by M Night Shyamalan, The Village, it had a very similar story actually with there being a village surrounded by a forest and none of the villagers were allowed to leave. I found that part interesting to learn how this little village ran and survived completely isolated from the rest of the world.

The part when the village was breached and Mary and her group had to escape down the path that no one was ever allowed to venture down before. I was really intrigued as to where the path would lead and how the story would develop but ultimately it all ends in disappointment. The author ends the book without telling us anything. Mary wakes up on a beach and gets to see the ocean. Big deal. Then there’s some random man killing the zombies who tells her pretty much nothing except that he lives in a lighthouse at the end of the beach. Oh and the ocean has tides. Shocker.

Also I didn’t like the main character.

Think my mind is fairly made up at this stage. I didn’t really like it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 2, 2013 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
