RSS

Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse #12)

21 May

deadlocked

It’s been so long since I read a Sookie Stackhouse novel I had started to think that I actually didn’t really like them anymore as much as I did previously. Turns out I just needed a break. I think I just slightly overdosed on them as I tended to read one after another there for a while so thankfully this one made me fall in love with Sookie and her whole world all over again.

It had the slight issues that I remember the previous few books having but whether they had got a bit better or I just didn’t find them as annoying I’m not sure but they definitely didn’t bother me as much anyway. It took the story a little while to get going, sometimes Sookie did stupid things and sometimes I wanted to scream at the men in her life but these were all forgivable.

I enjoyed the storyline with the fae in Hooligans as I loved hearing about all these other types of creatures that we only learn little bits about from time to time. Claude and Dermot always amused me with their unpredictable antics and reactions. I especially like Dermot as he just is so sweet and loving towards Sookie. She needs someone who has no ulterior motive for loving her in her life.

The Eric storyline disappointed me though as we didn’t see too much of him and the bits we did see were just not altogether too nice. I was always a fan of Eric and was always rooting for him and Sookie to get together and stay together but now… not so much. I was leaning towards Bill but Sam is just such a sweetheart if only she would see sense and let Sam have a shot. The next book is the last book as far as I know so looking forward to it and going to be a little sad all at the same time. It’s always nice to reach a conclusion in a series but it’s always a little sad to say goodbye to characters you’ve been reading about for so long.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 21, 2013 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
