RSS

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

21 Sep
Title page from the first edition of the first...

Title page from the first edition of the first volume of Pride and Prejudice (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My reasons for reading this were threefold. One, I try to squeeze in a classic novel every now and again just because I think that there are books out there that everyone should read at least once in their lives and obviously these are classics for a reason and need to be read.

Two, I loved Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte and I always thought that Pride and Prejudice might be something similar so I always intended on reading it at some stage or another.

Three, this is probably a really bad reason for wanting to read what is hailed as a literary masterpiece but I thought it would probably benefit me to have this read first before I read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies… I’m sorry.

Anyhow regardless of why I read this it turns out that I really, really enjoyed it. It wasn’t really like Jane Eyre at all but that’s ok because it was very good in its originality. Basically the book centers around Elizabeth, a fairly middle-class woman in the 1800’s who is not the stereotypical woman of those ages. She is strong-minded, independent and fiercely opinionated. All traits which would probably have stood against her back then. Most men wanted women who just did as they were told in those days (some still do unfortunately).

I immediately loved Elizabeth’s character as she’s just the kind of person you wish you could be sometimes. I also loved Jane, even though she wasn’t as strong-willed as Elizabeth she was so nice and tried to see the good in everyone no matter how awful a person they truly were.

Elizabeth meets the famous Mr Darcy when he visits a friend near her home and instantly takes a dislike to him as he comes across as very arrogant and rude. As time goes on, however, things change and both characters feelings change towards each other. With a lot of bumps a long the road.

This is a really good love story. It was obviously written so long ago that there are situations in it that would seem absurd now. However even though some parts were old-fashioned and out-dated the general storyline was as good or better as any modern love story. In fact, the lack of sex or any other modern part of relationships actually made the whole reading experience just so different and lovely. It was refreshing to read a love story where the characters fell in love first before any physical love took place. It can still happen you know?

I’m currently ‘living in sin’ so don’t take me up wrong I’m not a strict christian/catholic person I just found the story refreshing.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 21, 2013 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Leave a Reply

 
