RSS

Lover At Last by JR Ward (Black Dagger Brotherhood #11)

15 Dec

loverI was waiting and waiting for this moment to come and man, was it worth the wait! Finally Blay and Qhuinn got their moment in the sun. I had stated before that I thought possibly Ward was shying away from writing this story and you know not for any homophobic reasons but I don’t blame her. I would struggle hugely with even attempting to write a gay love story because even though it is essentially no different to a ‘regular’ love story there is also huge differences. I would worry constantly that I wasn’t being fair to the gay community, is this really how people would feel when faced with the possibility of their sexual orientation not being how they expected it to be? Ward, however, did not worry about anything like this. And she was so right. She just wrote the love story like she did every other book so far. She wasn’t afraid of holding back in the love scenes and ultimately I think she was incredibly brave.

I always loved the whole Blay and Qhuinn storyline and was always rooting for them to get it together but when the last book ended with Layla going through her needing and Qhuinn servicing her needs I thought we had seen the end of that possibility but no need to fear my friends. It is, quite simply, one of my favourite BDB books of all time and that’s a real compliment because I pretty much adore each and every one of them. It’s never boring and you just fall instantly in love with nearly every character in this book, even the subplot ones.

We meet a few new characters in this book and see more of characters that we have only had glimpses of previously. Xcor makes another appearance and the plot thickens between him and Layla. What will become of them I do not know but my gut tells me eventually he will become a good guy. I really hope so. Trez and iAm become more important characters and we see the beginning of a possible love story between Trez and Selena. Also Assail who we knew very little of makes a big appearance in this book and I feel that we will see a good deal more of him in future instalments.

All in all one of my favourite reads of 2013! Thank God for the Black Dagger Brotherhood!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 15, 2013 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
