RSS

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie Maguire (Beautiful #1)

19 Jan

disasterDear God why? Why would you inflict this on us? Why? The main female character is a freak show schizophrenic and the main male character is a violent control freak who has serious mental health issues. Their relationship is extremely unhealthy and is not what you should aspire to kids!! Ughhh…. I was just so disappointed.

It actually didn’t start off too bad I thought maybe it was going to be a different, kind of interesting love story with a Sandy and Danny type love affair. How wrong I was… Even though Travis seemed to be a stereotypical bad guy who does what he wants when he wants and goes through more drink and women than most people have hot dinners that doesn’t really last all too long. He soon becomes stalkeresque obsessed with Abby who he ridiculously nicknames Pigeon (they are typically known as rats with wings so ya… that’s cute). Eventually she succumbs to his ‘obvious’ charms and they then progress to become the most annoying fictional couple since Bella and Edward.

One paragraph they are head over heels madly in love and the next they are physically and/or verbally attacking each other. Aaah young love… So sweet. I’m all for a turbulent relationship with a few ups and downs but this really took the absolute piss. It was just so frustrating as a reader to deal with characters who seemed so indecisive and co-dependent on each other. Am I wrong in thinking that no one wants to end up in a relationship like theirs? I most definitely do not anyway. As a reader I like to be able to somewhat relate to the characters in a book. Personally I think its pretty much essential. I did not relate to these characters. And more importantly I didn’t want to.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2014 in Book Review

 

Leave a comment