RSS

The Jester by James Patterson

24 Mar

So this was totally, totally, TOTALLY NOT what I was expecting…

It was supposed to be (in my eyes) a good old fashioned crime thriller. Maybe a good cop gone bad or vice versa, a terrible killer and a nice hero thrown in for good measure but no…. The author decided to just throw a spanner in my reading track by deciding to write a book set back in the time of the Crusades. Yep that’s what I said the Crusades. The Jester wasn’t actually a code name for a serial killer but an actual real hat-with-bells-on Jester.

Granted he’s not your everyday Jester in fairness. He does go off fight in the Crusades, unknowingly finds the Lance that stabbed Christ on the Cross, go home to find his wife missing and his child murdered, leads an army of farmers and peasants in an uprising against the unjust lords of the areas, falls in love with a noble who turns out to be the King of France’s daughter aaaand after all that still finds time to live happily ever after.

Phew….

Sorry if there’s some spoilers in there but trust me I’ve just saved you the bother of actually having to read this book. It’s not that it was terrible it’s just that it was never bloody ending! It just seemed to drag on and on. And on. And on…

Maybe it’s because it was so not what I wanted or expected to be reading that stopped me from getting into it. I don’t know but whatever it was I’m just glad it’s over.

20140324-200621.jpg

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
