RSS

Bloodline by Mark Billingham (Tom Thorne #8)

16 May

I’ve missed Tom Thorne and I didn’t even realise quite how much until I picked up this book and began it. Billingham is exactly what I like in a crime novelist. He’s exciting, fast-paced and writes excellent bad guys!

In this instalment the bad guy is retracing the footsteps of his serial killer dad and killing off his dad’s victims kids one by one. With me? It did get a little confusing at times and I have found before with Billingham that there are quite a high amount of characters in his books which sometimes make them difficult to follow. It did happen once or twice in this book but if you keep reading it tends to all click into place!

It’s just as exciting as previous Thorne books and as always there’s plenty of twists and runs along the way. Thorne and Louise are still going strong but unfortunately have just suffered a miscarriage. Thorne struggles to deal with his feeling towards the pregnancy and the miscarriage and carries a lot of guilt and turmoil throughout the book. He works through it with the help of his various buddy’s and him and Lou are looking happier than ever by the end! I really hope that they do eventually have a baby I’d love to see Thornes softer side come through more but I have a feeling that it may signal the beginning of the end of the series.

This may not be such a terrible thing though I always prefer to see a series end well rather than drag on until it is no longer enjoyable and you’re just reading for the sake of getting to the end. We’ll have to see what Billingham had in mind I suppose.

20140516-202808.jpg

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
