RSS

Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse #13)

12 Jul

I’ve had my ups and downs with this series. I loved it in the beginning and thought I’d never find anything better. However it got a bit convoluted and repetitive. It took me awhile to remember who was who at the start of this book but once I settled into it I started to enjoy reading about Sookie and the gang once again.

I liked meeting all the old reliable characters such as Amelia and Tara and Sam but the lack of Eric was irritating. I was very disappointed with how Eric and Sookies relationship ended. It seems that he was really never in love with her at all and was mostly just using her for his own benefits. Depressing, since we spent the last seven or eight books falling in love with him.

I’m not sure about the ending to be honest. I don’t really know what I wanted but this fell a bit short of my expectations for sure. It was too neat and tidy. Do we really expect Sookie to be happy living a “normal” life with Sam. No drama, no murders, no vampires, no nothing? Hmm… I’m not so sure. Sure it was nice to see her get a happy ending but I just felt a bit deflated closing the book.

Also what is with the authors need for useless filler information? I don’t need to know every time Sookie checks her email or goes for a shower or changes her outfit. It irritated me after a while and made me think the author was bulking up the book as best she could as it was really quite short especially considering it was the last in the series. Most finale books are the biggest of the lot and even though I read this on my kobo so don’t know the exact size I wouldn’t be surprised if it was the shortest of the series.

This is a series that needed to end and I’m glad Charlaine did it now and didn’t wait any longer because it has been on the brink of disaster for awhile now and I would have hated to see more of her fans turn against her. So long Sookie I may revisit you at some point in my life when my reading time isn’t so restricted.

20140712-113301-41581914.jpg

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
