RSS

The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan (The Forest of Hands and Teeth #2)

30 Aug

This book was like a massive contradiction. I loved the plot line and the whole world that the author created but I bloody hated every character she put in it. Especially the main character Gabry. She was so annoying.

First of all she was the most cowardly, self-doubting, weak character I think I’ve ever had the displeasure to read. She doubted every tiny thing she did. Her self esteem was nonexistent and she seemed to think that she had to have a man to be able to survive or have any type of future ahead of her. She ‘fell in love’ with Catcher for reasons unknown to me as he doesn’t have one appealing trait as far as I can see. He puts his own needs ahead of her at any given opportunity and is just a selfish, unsavoury type of guy.

Elias was a little better but still had issues. I mean he lived for years as Gabrys twin sisters older brother and then falls madly in love with Gabry when he meets her. Isn’t that just a little weird? However he was definitely a nicer guy than Catcher and I did root for him to be the guy Gabry chose.

I loved the plot line. I actually wasn’t expecting the two books to be as connected. Infact I was amazed that the main character Mary played such a big part in this book too. For some reason I had come to believe that the books were just going to be set in the same world but with totally different characters. How wrong was I? It was a great surprise to discover along the way and I was over the moon when the story returned to the Forest and the villages.

I am more than a little intrigued to see where the next book brings us I just hope and pray that the author improves on making her characters just a little more likeable. Come on Carrie you can do it!

IMG_1520.JPG

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
