RSS

Gone by Michael Grant (Gone Series #1)

28 Oct

I really, really wish that the author had made the characters 17 or 18 instead of 14. I know he was trying to appeal to the younger market but it just would have made the book so much more believable and interesting to read.

At 14 I felt it was unrealistic how some of the kids were so violent and brutal towards each other. I mean who wants to believe a 14 year old would even have the idea to trap someone’s hand in a cement block that they have to lug around after themselves. Pretty disgusting and I’d like to think that a 14 year old would balk at the thought never mind come up with it.

There was also a part of me that just felt extremely uncomfortable at the thought of a bunch of 14 year olds minding another bunch of tiny toddlers and babies. I wanted to dive into the book and take over!

However and its a big however, the premise of the book made up for the flaw in their ages because it was such an original idea. It kind of resembled Stephen Kings Under the Dome, I don’t know which came first to be honest I’m guessing Kings, but as well as there being a dome shaped barrier all the adults, or people over the age of 14, have disappeared.

On top of this a lot of the teenagers left behind start to exhibit strange powers. I loved that part. It was like a messed up version of Xmen and who doesn’t love some mutant teenagers right? Still waiting for Wolverine to appear though.

It was definitely exciting and because of the ending I cannot wait until the next book. It’s definitely a series I could get on board with!

IMG_1798.JPG

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
