RSS

The Secrets Sisters Keep by Sinead Moriarty

28 Nov

Once again pretty damn close to perfection for a chick lit read. This is a follow on from Me and My Sisters that I read only a few short weeks ago. I very rarely read books from the same author close together it’s a weird thing of mine that prevents me from over dosing on a particular author or genre but sometimes I do make allowances and with Ms Moriarty there is no need to worry about her writing style ever becoming tiresome. She is a genius. If all chick lit books read like hers I’d read a heck of a lot more of them.

We meet up with the Devlin sisters around four years on from where we left them at the end of the previous book. There are a few major changes, mainly Julie and her family have inherited huge money and have gone from struggling to pay bills to sending their kids to the best private school in the country. Also Sophie and her husband have split up and he is now shacked up with a twenty year old TV presenter much to Sophie’s utter horror and shame. Louise is pretty much still the same but Clara has grown into a very withdrawn, quiet but extremely intelligent four year old.

They all go through major ups and downs in this book and because Moriarty is such a good writer you feel these ups and downs along with them. It’s been a long time since a book made me laugh out loud or get choked up and cry but this one did both. The humor is once again spot on and I especially love the Irishness to it!

The only teeny tiny flaw is that as was the story with the last instalment it’s a tad predictable. Maybe because I know someone that has Aspergers I saw it coming more easily but I could see that Clara clearly had issues not normal for a four year old nearly immediately. The whole situation with Pippa and Jess was very easy to see coming too but to be honest I don’t think that the author was really trying to hide many of these things. I actually think that she likes the readers to have it figured out before she reveals it in the book. I don’t know why I think that I just do.

I love Sinead Moriarty. She has surpassed my old favourite Irish author Cecelia Ahern to become my number one and I don’t see it changing any time soon.

IMG_1905.JPG

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
