RSS

The Death of King Arthur by Peter Ackroyd

13 Mar

Oh dear god….

You know those slapstick comedies that try so hard to be hilarious that they end up being not funny at all? This was kind of like that but it wasn’t trying to be funny at all which made it possibly one of the most depressing books I’ve ever had to read. It was like a Monty Python skit but one that wasn’t in the least bit humorous. I don’t know how else to describe it. 

I honestly don’t know how much of the story is based on fact or fiction. I’m guessing it’s loosely based on events at that time in history. However if people back then really did act like they acted in this book I am so, so very glad that I didn’t live back in those times. 

It was written in the weirdest, most horrible style I’ve ever come across. There were weird little synopsis sentences every few paragraphs which basically ruined any kind of surprise that was coming up in the following few paragraphs. It also read like something my two year old could come up with. 

I’ve read Peter Ackroyd before and it wasn’t bad. His Casebook of Victor Frankenstein was a great twist on the original so I wrongly assumed this would be something similar. A modern take on the tale of King Arthur. How wrong was I? Very. 

Poor, so, so very poor.



 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
