RSS

Prisoners of Birth by Jeffrey Archer

28 May

For what this is it’s pretty good. For a crime thriller I mean. I’ve only read one Jeffrey Archer book previously and I remember not being a huge fan of it. This was definitely better but it still lacked a certain something.
The story centers around a man who is wrongly convicted of the murder of his best friend and future brother-in-law and sentenced to life in prison. A series of events lead to him escaping prison and seeking revenge on the four men who were the real culprits of the murder in question. It was exciting for sure if not a tad unbelievable. But hey, I read fantasy all the time and don’t give out about he unrealistic factor so I don’t think that’s the thing that really bothers me. It’s the characters.

The four hoity-toity murderers were suitably horrible. They’re the stereotypical ‘my daddy’s rich’ posh side of London, arrogant assholes who think just because of who they are they can do whatever the hell they like and get away with it. Including kill someone.

My problem wasn’t really with them it was with the main character Danny. He bothered me for some unknown reason. I don’t know whether it was the fact that he seemed so uninterested in his child whenever he was around her or the fact that when he did get out he slept with some randomer instead of contacting Beth. He kind of irritated me.
It was still a good book and it was definitely gripping. To be honest I’m not even sure what truly made me dislike this book even a little but I did.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 28, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
