RSS

Lover Unleashed by JR Ward (Black Dagger Brotherhood #9)

14 Jun

As always I adore these books and this one didn’t disappoint. It’s actually been the longest period of time I’ve left between reading BDB books and it felt so good to read one again. Absence truly does make the heart grow fonder.
In this instalment we meet Payne who previously we had only seen sparring with Wrath in the Sanctuary. She turns out to be a lot more complex a character than I had previously believed and I loved her by the end of the book. I had a fear that this would resemble John and Xhex’s book all too much with the tough female and the not-as-tough-but-really-he-is-just-doesn’t-know-it-yet guy but it was completely different so well done to Ward for that. Manny is one of the most different characters we’ve seen in the BDB books, I thought. He isn’t as keen to become part of the vampire family as previous outsiders have, such as Butch and John Matthew. He is extremely wary of the situation and although he loves Payne doesn’t forget to think of himself once in a while too. I found this so refreshing as previously we’ve seen all the in-love couples give up everything for their partner, no questions asked.
Also enjoyed the subplots of Xcor and Qhuinn. I have a feeling we’ll be seeing a whole lot more of Xcor and his band of brothers in future instalments and I also believe he may not turn out to be quite as bad as he likes to think he is. All he needs is a good woman. Throe sounds interesting too and didn’t Zypher remind you of Zsadist in the beginning just a little bit?! Their introduction was an interesting development to say the least.
Qhuinn and Blay….

Will they ever get over their idiocy and get together? I sure hope so. And I hope we see that relationship played out in GREAT detail!

Was much happier to see more of Jane and Vishous than I would have thought I would be before reading this book. Looking back on all the BDB books that have come before this one, I now feel that maybe their’s was the weakest even though at the time I loved it. This book goes a long way to clear things up between them though. I really enjoyed seeing their relationship progress and we got to see a side of Vishous that we’ve never really seen before.

My only flaw is that Manny didn’t do the ancestor regression thing. I want to know how he’s related to Butch for sure and I want him to become a true half-breed vampire,  fangs and all. Maybe she’s saving that for future books though. With any luck!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 14, 2012 in Book Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment